Author Topic: CN stops responding to remote keypad  (Read 3307 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Eric Greenwell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
CN stops responding to remote keypad
« on: August 26, 2013, 08:00:12 PM »
About 20 minutes into a flight, CN stopped responding to the remote keypad (aka "clicker"). The displayed appeared to be operating properly as the map moved and the nav box numbers updated correctly. It was as if the cable from the keypad to the Nexus board was missing. After a few minutes, I cycled the power, it rebooted, and ran fine for the rest of the flight; however, the IGC file began at the moment it rebooted, and there was no other file in memory for that day. Three flights since then with no problems.

What was the problem? "Just one of those things"? Or is there something I should avoid doing in the future? Out of about 200 flights, I've had to reboot only twice, and for different symptoms, so still a pretty good record.


Evan Ludeman / T8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
Re: CN stops responding to remote keypad
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2013, 07:54:36 AM »
What version....?  If you haven't already updated, I recommend 2.2.0.63.

Rebooting normally has no effect on the flight log except for introducing a gap during the reboot. 
Evan Ludeman / T8

Eric Greenwell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: CN stops responding to remote keypad
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2013, 03:37:56 PM »
It is using version 2.2.0.42, FW 40, in sn NK4. I'll update to 63.

W3Racing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: CN stops responding to remote keypad
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2013, 01:12:52 AM »
My Cirrus CNd controller is having the same issue on .63;


Cheers,
W3Racing

Evan Ludeman / T8

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
Re: CN stops responding to remote keypad
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2013, 05:14:52 PM »
Suggest you report that to Gary @ Clearnav.   Might be new remote time.  A bad connection between CN and nexus box can cause this, or bad connection at either end of cable to remote.  Unlikely, but easy to check.
Evan Ludeman / T8